scholarshipweb copy

Congratulations to the 25 recipients of a $1,000 Flagstaff County Educational Scholarship!

This year, we awarded scholarships ($25,000 in total) to the 25 students who best answered the following open-ended question:

Flagstaff County is aware of an aging and declining population within our Region. Since 2001, we have seen a population decline of 7% and the median age of residents is 17% higher than the provincial average. To address these issues, our key strategic objective is to attract working age population and families to our Region.

Flagstaff County is seeking your ideas on how to encourage youth to return to the Flagstaff Region upon completion of their post-secondary education.

Please provide three detailed examples of potential opportunities, initiatives or strategies that you feel would encourage you and other youth to return to the Region.

Flagstaff County Reeve Gerald Kuefler posed for a group photo with the scholarship recipients who were able to stop by our administration building last week.

Students receiving a $1,000 Flagstaff County Educational Scholarship this year are:

Alex Nielsen
Allyson Badry
Alyson Kroetch
Bria Kroetch
Brynn Blumhagen
Cassidy Bogstie
Cassidy Mrazek
Chayla Armstrong
Cheyanne Kotylak
Cheyenne Nichols
Colton McMahon
Curtis Slavik
Duncan Coutts
Halley Adams
Jayce Fossen
Jillian Hihn
Justin Mandel
Karali Newby
Kaybree Mazure
Kayleah Robbins
Kyla MacFadyen
Matthew Vaclavik
Michelle O'Brien
Shyann Kelndorfer
Vanessa Gratrix

Best of luck to all of you in your studies!

For more on the Flagstaff County Educational Scholarship Program, visit: